Lise Keiter

Lise Keiter-Brotzman

Pianist Lise Keiter has performed throughout the U.S. and in Europe, and she is very active as a solo recitalist, collaborative artist, and soloist with orchestra.   Her European appearances include recitals with France’s International Roussel Festival, as well as with the Internationale Academie de Musique in Gargenville, France.  She has recently appeared as a concerto soloist with orchestras in Indiana, Virginia, and North Carolina, and her latest solo and chamber music performance engagements have taken her to New York City, North Carolina, Maryland, Wisconsin, Idaho, West Virginia, Illinois, South Carolina, and throughout Virginia, including recent performances with the Heifetz Institute and with the Shenandoah Valley Bach Festival.

Dr. Keiter is on the faculty at Mary Baldwin College, where she currently serves as Music Department Chair.  Her work at Mary Baldwin led her to develop an interest in the music of women composers, and in 2005, she developed an all-women composers program of solo piano works, in honor of the bicentenary year of pianist and composer Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel (1805-1847). In February 2014, she was the featured soloist with the Waynesboro Symphony, performing Florence B. Price’s Concerto in One Movement.  

Frequently in demand as a lecturer, adjudicator, and masterclass clinician, Dr. Keiter is active in many organizations, including MTNA (Music Teachers National Association) and CMS (College Music Society). She is committed to furthering the education of young musicians and also maintains a studio of high school students.  Her students include numerous competition winners, and many have been accepted into prestigious music programs at colleges, conservatories, and graduate programs across the U.S. and in Europe. Originally from Charleston, Illinois, she has a Bachelor of Music degree from the Oberlin Conservatory, where she received several top prizes, and she completed a Master’s Degree and the Doctorate of Music at Indiana University, where she also received the Award for Outstanding Teaching.   Her teachers have included Leonard Hokanson, Gyorgy Sebok, Robert McDonald, Emile Nauomoff, and Evelyn Brancart.

Adjunct Faculty

Sharon Barnes (ADP)
Johanna Beaver (violin, viola)
Kathleen Bell (voice, Baldwin Charm)
Matthew Brooks (music history)
Tim Duncan (ADP)
Beth Cantrell (cello)
Yu-Wen Chen (staff accompanist)
Lynne Mackey (piano)
Tonya Menard (staff accompanist, piano)
Erin Murphy (flute)
Cutch Tuttle (guitar)
David Tate (choir, music education)
Anne Wick (voice, Bella Voce)