News Release

Mary Baldwin College Students to Debate “Ethics and Privacy”

Richmond, VA – Five students from Mary Baldwin College will VFIC Logoparticipate in The Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges (VFIC) 12th annual statewide collegiate Wachovia Ethics Bowl on February 13–14, 2011, on the campus of Virginia Wesleyan College in Norfolk/Virginia Beach, Va. The Mary Baldwin College team will compete head-to-head against other highly qualified student teams from Virginia’s 14 leading independent colleges and universities, debating a variety of case studies highlighting privacy-based dilemmas. The Mary Baldwin College student team members are: Shannon Harris, Junior; Emilie Holmstock, Junior; Kathleen Hunter Lea Todd, Senior; Elisabeth Caroline Maddrell, Senior; and Aubrey Sparks, Sophomore.

Many notables from the business sector, law, education, finance, journalism, and other fields will listen to team presentations and offer reactions to the students’ presentations.

The Ethics Bowl program will commence with an opening session on Sunday, February 13 at 2:45 p.m. at Virginia Wesleyan College’s Jane P. Batten Student Center, Pearce Hospitality Suite, with the first matches scheduled for 3:30 p.m. A special reception and dinner honoring Macon and Joan Brock of Dollar Tree, Inc. will follow Sunday’s two matches. With lead sponsorships from BAE Systems, Dollar Tree, Inc., GEICO, and Norfolk Southern, this event will raise money for the Joan and Macon Brock Scholars Fund to benefit students from the Hampton Roads region attending VFIC member schools. On Monday, February 14, rounds 3 and 4 will begin at 8:30 a.m. The final round of competition will take place at 11:30 a.m. in the Monumental Chapel. The public is invited to attend the match sessions free of charge. There is a cost for the reception and dinner Sunday evening. The winning team will be announced at 12:45 p.m. on Monday. The team from Randolph-Macon College took home the trophy at the 2010 Ethics Bowl.

Founded in 1952, the Virginia Foundation for Independent Colleges is a nonprofit fund-raising partnership supporting the programs and students of 15 leading independent colleges in the Commonwealth: Bridgewater College, Emory & Henry College, Hampden-Sydney College, Hollins University, Lynchburg College, Mary Baldwin College, Marymount University, Randolph College, Randolph-Macon College, Roanoke College, Shenandoah University, Sweet Briar College, University of Richmond, Virginia Wesleyan College and Washington & Lee University. For additional information on the VFIC, visit


Morgan Alberts Smith '99 is the web producer and social media manager for MBC's Office of Communication, Marketing, and Public Affairs.