Classroom Technology- Turning off Software Update Popups

Classroom Technology- Turning off Software Update Popups

The classroom PCs at MBU are protected with Deep Freeze software.  This means after the first two weeks of the semester, a snapshot of how the PC is set up is saved and after that time every time the PC reboots it will revert back to the way it looked on that day.  Software downloaded after Deep Freezing will not be saved following a reboot.

Things to do before the PC is Deep Frozen:

  1. Close your Firefox tabs before Exiting Firefox OR set up Firefox to not remember history (in Firefox, under Tools, Options, Privacy)
  2. Download and test all the software you will need during the term.
  3. If you need to be an Administrator on classroom PCs AFTER the first two weeks of the semester (to run some types of software or to be able to temporarily install software), tell OIT by sending an email to help@mbc.edu
  4. If you need to have iTunes or Quicktime installed on the classroom computer, install it before the Deep Freeze date, let OIT know what you  have installed, and turn off the updates for these items as described below.

A short video tutorial with directions on how to turn off the updates is here:

Written directions are here:

iTunes

Click on the Start Menu in the lower left hand corner and then All Programs.

Click  the iTunes folder and click on iTunes.   If you can’t find it, SKIP TO QUIKTIME.  In iTunes, click on Edit and Preferences.

 

In the General tab in Preferences, look to the bottom and uncheck the box beside Check for new software updates automatically and click OK.

Quicktime

Click on the Start Menu in the lower left hand corner and then All Programs.

Click  the Quicktime folder and click on Quicktime to open the software.  If you can’t find it SKIP TO ADOBE READER.

Click on Edit,  Preferences then Quicktime Preferences.

Click the Update tab and uncheck the box beside Check for updates automatically.  Click on OK.