MBC Wins Fourth Sportsmanship Award

For the fourth time since Mary Baldwin College joined the USA South Athletic Conference in 2008, the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) has announced that MBC has won the athletic conference’s sportsmanship trophy.

Mary Baldwin earned the 2013 accolade after picking up the Sportsmanship Award in four sports during the 2012–13 academic year: softball, women’s soccer, volleyball, and women’s basketball.

There is a Sportsmanship Award for 11 of the 14 conference-sponsored sports. For each sport, all players vote for the team they think has demonstrated the best overall sportsmanship throughout the season. The team garnering the most votes receives that sport’s Sportsmanship Award. The school that wins the most individual sport awards wins the overall USA South sportsmanship trophy. The award came about through SAAC’s commitment to maintaining a sportsmanlike environment on each campus.

LaGrange College was the only other school to win multiple (three) Sportsmanship Awards during the past academic year. Single Sportsmanship Award winners last year were Agnes Scott College, Averett University, Ferrum College, Methodist University, and William Peace University.

2012–13 Team Sportsmanship Award Winners
Baseball – Methodist University
Softball – Ferrum College & Mary Baldwin College
Men’s Tennis – LaGrange College
Women’s Tennis – William Peace University
Women’s Lacrosse – Agnes Scott College
Men’s Basketball – Averett University
Women’s Basketball – Mary Baldwin College
Football – LaGrange College
Volleyball – Mary Baldwin College
Men’s Soccer – LaGrange College
Women’s Soccer – Mary Baldwin College

Past Sportsmanship Trophy Recipients
2012–13 – Mary Baldwin College
2011–12 – Mary Baldwin College
2010–11 – Ferrum College
2009–10 – Mary Baldwin College
2008–09 – Mary Baldwin College
2007–08 – Christopher Newport University
2006–07 – Averett University
2005–06 – Averett University
2004–05 – N.C. Wesleyan College

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *